Print this pagePrint  |  Bookmark this pageBookmark    

Technical Committee

The Technical Committee is headed by a Chairman who is assisted by three Vice Chairmen. The Chairman is elected from among the members of the Technical Committee for two-year terms. The Vice-Chairmen are also elected for two-year terms.

The Technical Committee meets once every year during the annual meetings preceding the ABU General Assembly.

At these meetings, decisions and recommendations are made based on proposals made by the members. In addition, work programmes are decided for the following year. The meetings also provide a forum for exchange of information on technological developments.

The next meeting of the ABU Technical Committee will be held on 30 October - 1 November in Chengdu, Sichuan, PR of China.

Elections were held at the ABU Technical Committee Meeting on 22 October 2016 in Bali.

The 18 members elected to the ABU Technical Bureau are Phoenix TV-Hong Kong, EAP-Sri Lanka, NBT-Thailand, TBC-Tonga, MTV-Sri Lanka, NHK-Japan, TPT-Thailand, TVB-Hong Kong, TBS-Japan, IRIB-Iran, KBS-Korea, DDI-India, Mediacorp-Singapore, RTM-Malaysia, TRT-Turkey, RRI-Indonesia, SBC-Saudi Arabia and RTPRC-China.

Mr Masakazu Iwaki was re-elected as the Chairman of the ABU Technical Committee

The three Vice-Chairmen elected were Mr Tharaka Mohotty of MTV-Sri Lanka, Mr Lasantha Samaranayake of EAP-Sri Lanka and Dr Kong Bin of RTPRC-China.  The Honorary Vice-Chairman from the host of the 2017 General Assembly, RTPRC-China is Mr Ding Wenhua.

The ABU Technical Committee also confirmed the appointment of Mrs Hanife Sayilir of TRT-Turkey as Topic Area Chairman for Production, Dr Narichika Hamaguchi of NHK-Japan as Topic Area Chairman for Transmission, Mr Tharaka Mohotty of MTV-Sri Lanka as Topic Area Chairman for Capacity Building and Dr Li Leilei of RTPRC-China for the Spectrum Topic Area.

Decision 1/2016   Change in the Subscription Category - Rules of Procedure
Recommendation 1/2016  Cybersecurity - Initiatives and Actions of the ABU
Recommendation 2/2016  Establishment of Requirements of Closed Caption and Subtitle System

Please contact the Director ABU Technology for copies of the above documents.

Back to Top